My former mother-in-law just left with the last of the ex's stuff. His best friend helped carrying stuff down. It was quick and somewhat painless. I've missed mom. Yes, I will refer to her as such if I damn well please. And I please. I love the woman, she really has been like a second mom to me. I'm really sad not to have her as a grandmother to my potential kids. (Let's get back to the kids thing, in a bit, btw.) Despite his demand I stay away from his family, which I expect was said in anger and desperation to get some sort of reaction out of me, she and I agreed on a hot beverage and shoe-making talk, at her place, once I'm home from Turkey. I'm looking forward to it already, I miss hanging out with them. They're extended family, and I doubt that'll change anytime soon, for me.
Anyway. I spend most of the day cleaning and moving furniture around. I vacuumed all over, cleaned the toilet, emptied some of the odds and ends boxes, moved the diningroom furniture around so I can use the table for sewing, have free access to the balcony, and still entertain, I did the dishes, straightened my couch, dusted, collected all the trash so it's ready to be taken down, put all the stuff in the walk-in that belongs in there, I even polished the coffee table (which is made of glass and has a tendency to look horrible after one glass being set down once). Oh, and I had the windows open all over, all day. And I put all the laundry away. And hung the rest of my clothes that needed to go in the closet. I did a ton of stuff XD And the place looks awesome. It feels nice, too.
I still want to go through my suitcase one more time for friday (Yes, I've done it a few times. 6, actually.) and take pictures (just in case, insurance reasons), and then I just need to get ready for class tomorrow. It's not till noon, so that's a luxury. Tomorrow after class.. I should make a list.
I need to set up the hamsters with everything they need, so mom knows what to take when she picks them up. She's taking care of them while I'm away, so I'm expecting two fat boys when I get back.
I need to clean their cage tomorrow evening so it's nice and fresh for the pick-up. The girls have already been picked up, and will stay with a friend who knows snakes, till I get home. Maybe a bit more than that, since he expressed interest in Cersei for breeding, and I don't like to seperate them. We'll see. He gets to hold on to them for a while, to observe their temper and health and all that, and I get to rest assured they're in good hands while I'm away. I like that deal. Anyway, the list..
I need to make sure all the trash is taken down, and that there's no perishables that'll go bad while I'm gone.
I need to select an outfit for travelling. Something comfortable, that takes into consideration 4 hours of flying, 1½ hour in a bus, and that we'll arrive at midnight, at the hotel. It might be a bit cool, so I need long sleeves.
I need to take a nice, hot shower, so I'm all spanky clean and comfy for the trip.
I need to go through my purse to make sure I'm not bringing anything in it that can't go in the airplane. Must be put in the suitcase.
And.. I think that's it.
I feel well-prepared for this. There's been noone to stop me from going crazy with the lists and the preparations. I've been able to go all cutesy OCD on it, and I've enjoyed it like crazy.
So, about the kid-thing.
My grandmother actually had me make a namelist. We were talking babynames (spin off from all their geneology, them thinking all the old-fashioned names being better than my modern ones) and my grandmother decided that of all the names I put on my list, not one would make it to a kid of mine. Well, except for Nova Sara Something, cause I've been holding on to that one for years, and apparently, it's not as awful a name as all the rest. I already said that my first girl will be named Sara as a middle name. If I have another girl, her middle name will be Jessie. I'm not going to go on a long rant as to why, but they were good people, and I'm damn well naming any girls of mine after them. Just for reference, here's the list.
For a Girl:
Nova (Everyone approves.)
Luna
Emma (Might be weird, seeing as I have a character named that.)
Luca
Aimee (My sister approves of this one. She's awesome.)
Dina
Fleur (Both grandma and Sis approved of this one.)
Ivy (For once, grandma got something right, pronouncing it in danish, "Eevee")
Megan (Also pronounced in danish.)
Mira
My (Won't really do, since that's my sister's nickname, but I love it, so I put it on the list. Also have a character with the name.)
Tess
Via (Because.. well. Character, again. And you can ACTUALLY be named that.)
For a Boy: (Which people hope I will never have, based on my namelist)
Bastian
Adam
Theodor
Noah
Oliver (The only one my sister didn't hate XD)
Dimitri
Frej
Gabriel
Hjalte
Kian
Vidar
Damian
Now, the reason there aren't a lot of comments on the boys.. is that both my grandmother and my sister basically hated each and every name on there XD My personal favourites are Theodor and Kian. Good thing I dreamed a girl, huh? But that won't be till yeeeaaaars from now. If I find someone I even want kids with. I do want to meet Nova.
No comments:
Post a Comment
Burning to comment?