Okay, so I have this little side job, it's not even an actual job, I just help out my mother and her boyfriend, when they work at this local bar/pub, which is about once or twice a week. We know the owner, he's short on staff (or rather, good staff) and it's a pretty fun job when you've grown up in the area and know all the regulars. It's not really about getting tips or playing shrink for the overly drunk idiots. It's about talking to a lot of different people with different stories and backgrounds and personalities.
Now today, I was for once pissed off there. My mom took an evening shift, and she's not overly strong in doing the paperwork, since she usually does dayshifts, so of course I offer my assistance, having helped her boyfriend closing lots of times. I went there at dinner time, making my mom dinner and taking over till she had finished eating, and then went back home, since things were pretty dead down there.
At about 11, I decide I'm bored and rejoin her, giving her a chance to take a break. Seated at the bar is an old friend of my mother and my uncle, they've probably known each other for 20 years or so. Let's call him R. R is usually a pretty funny guy, always teases you and makes jokes with anyone within reach. But lately, the guy has been drinking a little more then he should. And he gets extremely annoying when he drinks.
The poor fellow had some twisted idea, that, and I quote "If it wasn't for my protection, you wouldn't be standing where you do, today." I take it lightly to begin with, and politely ask what R means. He repeats what he said, and continues with "I always protect your mom and you."
Well, sorry, mate, but exactly when and how have you protected me (I'm not going to speak on my mother's behalf, since I don't know half of what the woman has done before my time, therefore I only refer to myself in the continuation of this discussion) against what and who? He either can't or won't answer that, but proceeds to tell me he knows me well enough to say I don't know how the world works.
... Now, you can say a lot of things to me. You can put me down, insult me, call me crazy, and I'll just smile and agree. I might not actually think it's true, but often, with drunk or hard headed people, it will halt the discussion. Not always stop, but mostly halt.
He might be twice my age. He might be smarter then me. He might think it unwise of me to want to work with the profession I've chosen. But I will not be told I don't know how the world works, by a man who claims to know me, when in fact, he barely even knows simple things as my full name or age. He does not know me, and it pisses me off when people make idiotic statements as that.
And who the hell does he think he is, telling me I know nothing of how the world works?! What the hell does he know about that? And it's a pretty wide thing to say, if you ask me. It can mean hundreds, maybe even thousands of things. Obviously, I'm young, there's things I don't know, even if I know more then most people my age. I don't always voice my thoughts or opinions, but it doesn't mean I don't have them. In fact I rarelt get the opportunity to not think. I don't do "no thinking" very well, there's always something going on in there.
I had to go to the kitchen and back rooms to not smack the guy. I really wanted to. I hate being condescended by someone who has no right to do so. If you're actually superior to me, if you know me well enough to see your superiority, I might tolerate it for a very very short while. I find it disrespectful no matter what. I'll often be condescending right back, to show what a person is doing by acting that way, and it may not be the smartest approach, but 9 out of 10 times, it works.
I got rid of most of the tension by dancing. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I danced! To swing music, even. And it was fun. I'm terribly tired now.
Irritated swing dancer over and out.
No comments:
Post a Comment
Burning to comment?