Friday, June 12, 2009

Judgement Day

HEAT! ... It's cold and rainy out, and I just got home. Dry clothes and a blanket really are your best friends at the end of rainy days.

I just got back from the movies. I was supposed to go with my mom and sister, but my sister didn't feel well and had to cancel. It happens. I'll probably visit her sometime next week, my schedule is pretty full the next couple of days.

Tomorrow I've agreed to travel all the way up to the northern end of the island. Sounds far, and I personally think it is, but 1½ hours by train and bus and who knows what, ain't that bad. People only celebrate their 20th birthday once in life, after all :) I'm most keen on going home again tomorrow night, if public transport allows it, since I have my grandmothers birthday on sunday, as well.

Then there's the dentist check-up monday morning. Way too early as usual. Planning on sleeping most of the afternoon after.

The movie was great, btw. Danish movie by one of, if not THE, most accomlished danish comedians, Anders Matthesen. It was better then I thought it would be. I knew it would be funny, but it actually had some really good points, too, about karma and how your choices affect the people around you. Very good movie.

And we ran into my brother, actually! He was there with his younger brother, since the internet was out due to the rain. Very very typical of them XD

I usually don't consider rain a bad thing, but it's been raining for 3 days straight, now. I went to the supermarket to pick some stuff up for Alex today, and they had buckets standing around in the store cause the roof was leaking! That's a first.

Oh, and Angel is happy ^.^ The Sims 3 on it's way! Getting it sometime next week ^.^

OH OH OH!! I finally remember what I originally wanted to write about! (Yes, everything previous to this has just been my brain going through everything, to figure out what it was I had forgotten.)

We (my mother and I) were at my grandparents' yesterday, and we had the funniest discussion ever! Well, at least I was amused. My grandmother is a lovely lady. A bit oldfashioned, and very set in her opinions. However, she's stubborn, unwilling to listen to what other people has to say, and thinks she knows everything because she watches the news and reads the newspaper. She also raises her voice when you try to make your own opinion known. If you try to tell her you've personally seen or experienced something to contradict something she's read, she says that's only one case out of many. Which is true, but is said in a way that lets you know she believes it's the ONLY case out of many.

That's some background you'd need to know, to see how very amusing this discussion was to me. My mother was telling my grandparents about this man who sometimes visits the bar. Neither of us like him. He's from Thailand, and every time someone disagrees with him over something, he claims they just don't like him cause he's from Thailand. Actually, people just think he's a nitpicking crybaby.

So this guy decided to tell a woman there, that her sexual orientation is wrong. He pretty much puts the whole lesbian society down, and then gets upset because she calls him an idiot. Who can blame her, it's none of his business.

My grandmother agrees with us, that he's a jerk for judging her way of living, and we start talking about a certain gay club in Copenhagen, and if it's still open. My grandmother then says that she doesn't really care what kind of sexual orientation people have, as long as she doesn't have to be around, and this is her words, translated by me, the ones who overdo it. I can't help it, I just have to ask what she means. She mentions gay women who's very masculine, and gay men who are very feminine and that she can't stand that kind of behaviour.

This is the first time I start laughing in the discussion. I ask her if she realizes she's judging as much as the guy who insulted the woman, from before. She claims she's not.

Am I totally wrong here? I mean, is it up to her to say when people are "overly" masculine or feminine? That's judging them. That is her judgement of when a man is too feminine or a woman is too masculine. If the person behaving that way doesn't think or feel they're overdoing it, then they're not. It doesn't become fact because you have an opinion about it, and if they're overdoing it, then that's your opinion. But that also means that you have considered and judged their behavior, according to your own standards.

My grandmother was absolutely blind to that fact. She thought it "wasn't normal" to act more like the opposite sex, then your own. And I broke down laughing at this (even my grandfather had to laugh, cause he totally got my point), cause again, she's talking from her point of view, her view on what "normal" is. Ergo, she judges them, according to her standards.

"No I'm not!"

Silly little grandmother :) I don't really care what my grandmother thinks about masculinity, femininity or gay or straight. She can think whatever she wants, I'm not going to interfere with that, I know she'd be polite and sweet as always if I ever brought someone over who challenged her beliefs and views on things. I just wanted to point out that she was being just as judgemental, as the man she considered a jerk for judging others.

Chew on that ^.^ Angel over and out.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Burning to comment?