Friday, July 31, 2015

One of those bugs that stick.

Oh, Peepers. Why, oh why, do I lack a Spencer Reid in my life?

... Sorry, I can't help but want to know that guy, every time I watch the show. He's just so damn adorably awkward, and not enough girls are hugging him, you know?

Okay, my pathetic tv-crushes aside. I had a real.. maybe-it's-time-to-weed-out-the-friend-list-on-facebook kind of day, the other day. Someone posted something I, among others, felt was offensive and uncomfortable, and the person posting it defended their right to post on their own wall. Which I'm not at all arguing against. I'm not arguing against whether what she was writing about (an episode about a confrontation with a complete stranger, stranger being a real jackass) had been her fault, either. I was only arguing that her choice of description of this person was unfortunate.

It was just the whole debate that followed that was so uncomfortable. I chose to just ignore it, from one point, cause she got downright childish about it, and kept making it worse while defending her right to do so. And sure. Free speech is a right around here. But that doesn't mean you're home safe when it comes to others. They're allowed to react against it, and if you choose to put a degrading description of person up in public space (which facebook is, whether it's posted on your wall or someone elses), you're going to get comments.

One thing is disagreeing. But taking it as an attack? Come on. Grow up a bit. No one were being mean. They were trying to point out the irrelevance of the detail mentioned, and how it really only made her look bad. Cause we all know she's better than that.

But here's the thing that's really bugging me about it. Some of her friends took her side and said it was perfectly okay to say something like that cause she was still angry, and needed to get it out of her system. Someone was saying it was okay, cause they knew she was a better person that what that comment, made in anger, made her look.

Right. So... When we're angry, it's okay to call someone something degrading? I don't care if that person never reads it, other people sharing the trait degraded could read it and take offense or feel really hurt. If we're generally good people, it's okay to sometimes be demeaning?

How is that an excuse? If you want to be a jackass and say offensive shit, fine by me, I can just take you off my friendlist and never have to worry about it again. But at least stick by it, own up to it. Don't go hiding behind "Oh, but I'm usually such a freaking samaritan, so it's okay I talk like that about people when I'm angry." Sorry, but no. It's actually never okay to shame a group of people. Not even if it's a joke. Not even when you're angry.

My respect for this person really has skydropped. To a degree where her "You can just unfriend me if you don't want to deal with stuff like this" seems very tempting. Also, just to add it, what kind of coward attitude is that? Unfriend people yourself if you feel so goddamned attacked, in stead of victimizing yourself like that, when people are just reminding you you're in a public forum. Jeez.

Ah. Getting that off my chest really helps. And I think I talked myself into actually unfriending her. Maybe it'll show her that actions have consequences? One can hope.

That be it for now, my lovelies. Grab a hug if you want!


(It's a pile of hugs!)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Burning to comment?