Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Building My Own Business

Heading for the gym alone today, my training buddy doesn't feel well. But hey, our dance class got cancelled again (third time!) and there's no way I'm doing step alone. We were going to do one class after the other, but it'll just be me, running. And a bit of weights and rowing.

But first, using the daylight for my current job. I'm still working on the big Desert Project. If what I'm doing gets approved, the design will be sent to be produced for 600 people, and that's pretty freaking awesome. I finally figured out how to do the tabard, so it plays into what the boss wants, and I'm very happy with the result of my test piece. So now it's all about choosing materials and making the real thing. Half the pieces I'm making are incredibly easy, but one of them is more complicated. It's mostly the desert part. What the heck do you wear to those kinds of degrees, you know? Fabric wise, that is, the design is decided. And the color scheme.

I'm enjoying this, working on my own time, in my own home, and being not only the creative decision-maker (within limits set by our customer), but also knowing that what I'm making will be sent out into the world and worn by so many. It feels accomplished. And if the customer is happy with my test outfit, I'll have a job until October, which will secure a cashflow that can fund my designs for Lock'ed Treasures.

I'm SO excited to dive into that. The pile of ideas, the amount of drawings just waiting to be created, is insane. I have my first 6 collections planned out. 4-5 pieces in each. Starting with Autumn then Winter, Christmas, Spring, Valentine's and finally Summer. I'm also working on an Animal Kingdom collection, but so far it only has two designs. I'm considering taking some time out of my workday today, and doing an actual timeline for those, so I have approximate deadlines for each collection.

But! I need to order materials before production can begin. And once I have the monetary means, I need to have a banner made for Etsy and FB. The most costly collection is the winter one, by far, so I know I can't do a standardized price, as I originally intended. Maybe I'll do a standard and a deluxe? Gotta do some math first.

Anyway, Peepers. I gotta get back to work. Have a nice day!

Thursday, June 23, 2016

A bit about love and thunder

Hi Peepers.

Tonight I'm in a bit of a weird mood. I've had a good day, I had a good friend over (We were supposed to go to the gym, but I haven't been feeling well cause the humidity is through the roof, so I can't breathe very well. Gym seems a bad move) and we had dinner and just chilled. Earlier I did some cleaning and went to get some plants for the balcony. And now I'm lying on my couch, watching the lightning and listening to the rain and the thunder outside. The balcony door is open so I can really enjoy it, and I turned off the lights and the TV. Enjoying the silence.

I guess I'm nostalgic. Something about this reminds me of when A and I first started dating, and I kinda miss it. Not that, in particular, but the initial stages of being with someone new. I miss going for a walk in the summer rain, coming home and huddling together to watch a movie under blankets. I miss how the smell of rain and the atmospheric tension before thunder makes the feeling of being in love more intense. I don't know why, but it does. I miss having someone to share some of these moments with, lying in the dark and just marvelling at nature's beauty together.

I recently had a very unexpected realisation that I'm ready to fall in love again. There was a specific situation, where my attraction to someone made me think it all the way through, imagining if I could even see myself with that person. And until now, it's been a no, when I've done that with anyone, after A and I broke up. It hasn't happened. And then, recently, it did.

And it's not about the specific person, cause that's not happening anyway (for various practical reasons), it was just the realisation that if it happened, if I fell for them, that would be okay. It wouldn't be a "NOPE, NOT READY!" situation.

Actually, I kinda freaked out about it when I realized, and freaked out a friend too, because my reaction was so overwhelming, compared to my usually more composed attitude, these days. But it was just so weird to feel relaxed and open about the possibility. So basically I freaked out about not freaking out. Well, Peepers, you know I'm a little nutty, so you're not surprised, are you?

I'm still not in a place where I'm thinking "Omg, I totes needs a Tinder profile!". Okay, I'll probably never think that, but you know what I mean. I'm just open to things happening if they happen. That's all.

That said, if it has to happen, I wouldn't mind it being the person who made me realize.. Which makes me a bad human, so I'll just go scrub that image out of my mind.

Don't get hurt if you fall, Peepers.